RSS

So I lied…

16 May

I sincerely thought I was done with book one in this series. It was novella-length, and the others in the series were supposed to be as well. I had a plan, the first installment felt finished, the next four were outlined (kind of, my outlines are more like brain-storming notations), I had started book two….

And now I’m nearly doubling the word count for book one, and the others are shaping up to be between 40,000-50,000 words as well.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m excited about where the series is heading. I’m in love with the storyline (always a plus when you have to read it over and over again during revisions and editing). I like the new chapters and scenes being added; I feel they really add to the story, the character development, and aid in building relationships between the characters (both primary and secondary).

So this IS a good thing. It’s just also an exhausting thing. There’s that childish part of my brain screaming, “I ALREADY DID IT THOUGH!” I guess it’s lucky that part of me can be quieted with candy. Or maybe that’s a bad thing… haven’t decided yet.

Most writers I’ve heard of have to cut things out during revision. I’m doubling the word count. Go figure. I’m not sure whether or not to be jealous of those who wind up having to shave 5000 words off their work.

I can’t be the only one this kind of thing happens to though, can I? Surely there are other writers who end up turning a shorter story into an epic novel or series? I’m not entirely alone, right?

Either way – wish me luck! 🙂

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 16, 2013 in Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “So I lied…

  1. Wren Andre

    June 4, 2013 at 1:40 am

    Yeah – that’s sort of what happened with the series I’m doing now. The first one was supposed to be 30-40K, and it ended up being 50K plus. I think it’s a good thing – better than having nothing to say! Lol.

     

Leave a Reply

 
