RSS

Jumping on the Bandwagon

21 Dec

I used to hate reading ebooks.  Staring at a computer screen for long enough to read even a short story was way too hard on my eyes (still is).  BUT, with the advances in technology now, I took a chance on the Kindle.

They’re not lying.  It really is like reading a paper book (at least, to the eyes).  It’ll take some getting used to, and I will never fall out of love with my solid, physical, tree-killing books.  But I’m kind of falling in love with my Kindle now too.

With the headaches I used to get, trying to read things like The Picture of Dorian Grey on my computer, I never thought I would join the ranks of ebook readers.  But, then, I thought, hey, I’m self-publishing (as soon as this WIP is whipped into shape).  Since I’ll be self-publishing in ebook form (solely, at least at first), I really should give ebooks another try.  A) I don’t want to be construed as hypocritical or anything.  B) I’d like to see how my own books look on the actual Kindle device.

It’s not a Kindle Fire.  I’m starting small, with the basic model.  I don’t handle change all that well (shh – don’t tell anyone) and technology isn’t my best friend.  So, I figured starting small was probably in my best interest (beyond being cheaper as well).

On the one hand, I kind of feel like I’m cheating on my bookcase full of actual paper books.  On the other hand, I’m far too young not to take advantage of new advances in technology (even if the techy stuff makes me want to psychotically throw microchips into a burning trash bin).  And…. I really do like this little thing.

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on December 21, 2011 in All, Reading

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “Jumping on the Bandwagon

  1. Wren Andre

    December 22, 2011 at 5:20 am

    As a Kindle & Kindle Fire customer, the regular Kindle is the best for just reading – lighter and easier on the eyes ( see my review in my last post) 😉 I would never give up my little Kindle!

     
  2. Wren Andre

    December 22, 2011 at 5:22 am

    P.S. – The first time you see your completed book on the Kindle – you will pee your (or Juan’s) pants again – it is soooooo cool!

     
    • A. W. Omyn

      December 23, 2011 at 10:07 am

      That’s actually one of the main reasons I wanted to get a kindle so desperately. I want to be able to test out my book file(s) on the actual kindle device, before letting it fly forth to Amazon’s ebook buying population.

      And yeah, I’ll totally pee my pants… then again, don’t really need any excuses to do that these days I’ve found. lol

       
  3. Joanna

    December 28, 2011 at 1:16 am

    Pros and Cons to everything. What can you do. I nominated you for the 7×7 Link Award. Check out my last blog entry for details.

     
  4. mygurlywayz

    December 31, 2011 at 5:38 pm

    I bought a Kindle just last year because I’m an avid reader and because I am into electronic gadgets. This was a great way for me to combine the two. I love my Kindle, I only wish that I could check out library books on it. More often than not, I don’t have the money to buy a new book and I must keep reading. It is a nifty thing though. I hope you enjoy yours. 🙂

     
  5. ottabelle

    January 10, 2012 at 1:43 am

    I got a kindle for chirstmas, and I love it. I didn’t realize I was going to love it so much. Also:

    *Sneaks up and leaves Kreativ Award and sneaks off*

    http://conversingwithnovels.wordpress.com/2012/01/09/fiftieth-post-wow-kreativ-blogger/

     

Leave a Reply

 
