RSS

Angel Vs. Spike

24 Nov

**Contains Buffy the Vampire Slayer (series) & Angel (series) Spoilers**

So, I have Netflix and they have most of the Buffy episodes available. Because I was a fan of Buffy when it originally aired (in fact, I’m a fan of Joss Whedon in general), I’ve been happily watching, or rewatching, the show.

Am I the only one who found Spike the more appealing vampire-lover character?

Here are my reasons…

One, Spike has a more heart-wrenching back story. I can completely understand how and why he relished in taking revenge on those who tormented him while he was human. I can also see why he’s so sensitive, with the overly macho exterior.

Two, Angel had a soul forced upon him. When his soul is removed (which happens more than once within the two series – Buffy & Angel), he instantly turns back in to a sadistically evil demon. That, it would appear, is his base nature. Spike, on the other hand, actively and willfully seeks out obtaining a soul (to “become the man Buffy deserves”). Even while being technically “evil”, Spike is able to better control himself and his vampire urges. He willingly deals with unmentionable pain, enduring multiple tests in order to gain a soul and become a better person.

Three, Spike’s accent is just hot. Come on, it had to be said.

Now, with all that said, I do like the character of Angel. I was a fan of the Angel spin-off series too. His character had it’s own tragic story: knowing that he could become Angeles (the evil twin) at any moment, having to live with the memories of what Angeles has done, constantly trying to redeem himself for those actions (without ever feeling as though he might be able to), and so on.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 24, 2011 in All, For Fun/Just Because

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Angel Vs. Spike

  1. Joanna

    December 8, 2011 at 5:12 pm

    I agree. Angel is cool but I find Spike more interesting. Do you remember in season three of Buffy, the episode “Lover’s Walk”, where Spike was depress and drunk out of his mind because Dru dumped him. He told Buffy and Angel, “You’re not friends. You’ll never be friends. You’ll love each other until it kills you both. You’ll fight, and you’ll shag, and you hate each other until it makes you quiver but you’ll never be friends. Love isn’t brains children, it’s blood, blood screaming inside you to work it’s will. I may be love’s bitch, but at least I’m man enough to admit it.” I love that part! It just shows that even back then when he was evil, Spike was able to love and I have nothing but the greatest respect for him.

     
    • A. W. Omyn

      December 8, 2011 at 7:06 pm

      LOL – not only do I remember that alcohol-soaked scene, and those poignant lines, I have said scene playing in my noggin right now. Definitely one of my favorite moments on the show.

      Spike was a far more complex character, which gave him much more depth and intrigue. Sure, Angel’s pain is tragic. But, it’s constant. It never really changes. When he’s good, he’s good. And, when he’s evil, he is EVIL — no emotion, no remorse, no real internal struggle. He’s a very black or white character. And, I’m partial to the characters that fall into the gray area.

      Another of my favorite Spike moments happens during the musical episode, “Once More, With Feeling.” During one of the last songs, while it’s his verse, he sings, “I hope she fries, I’m free if that bitch dies. I better help her out.” Then he walks off to help Buffy. That is a fabulous line! Not only is it delivered beautifully, not only is it funny, it sums up their love/hate, often complicated, dramatically interesting relationship rather well.

       

Leave a Reply

 
